What is cataract ?

ما هو
النزول الأبيض

النزول الأبيض هو حدوث تعتيم في عدسة العين الشفافة نتيجة للتقدم بالعمر. يمكن أن يكون النزول أيضاً خلقيا ، رضياً أو ثانوياً نتيجة لاستخدام الستروئيدات أوداء السكري. ان جراحة النزول الأبيض هي أشيع الجراحات العينية على اعتبار أن كل شخص تقريبا سيحدث لديه النزول الأبيض في مرحلة ما من حياته.

متى يجب
اجراء جراحة النزول الأبيض؟

يمكن اجراء العملية بأي وقت بعد تشخيص النزول بغض النظر عن تدهور الرؤيا أم لا، يفضل اجراء عملية النزول في مراحلها الأولى بحيث تكون الجراحة أكثر أماناً وذا نتائج أفضل أما في حالة إجراء الجراحة في مراحل متقدمة فذلك لن يسبب تدني الرؤية فحسب بل يزيد خطورة حدوث الاختلاطات الجراحية ويقلل من القدرة على تشخيص أمراض عينية أخرى خاصةً أمراض الشبكية.
في بعض الحالات كارتفاع ضغط العين ( النزول الأسود ) أو النزول الأبيض مفرط النضج أو النزول الأبيض الخلقي تكون الجراحة مطلوبة بشكل عاجل.

كيف يتم اجراء الجراحة ؟

ان جراحة النزول الأبيض هي من الجراحات العينية الروتينية على مستوى العالم وكذلك في المركز الفنلندي للعيون يوجد تقنيات عديدة للجراحة تعتمد على رغبة وحاجة المريض وقرار الجراح في المركز الفنلندي ، أشيع طرق الجراحة هو " الفاكو " والذي يتضمن إجراء شق جراحي صغير . من الممكن في حالات النزول الناضج بشده إجراء جرح أكبر يتم بعد ذلك ازالة النزول عن طريق تفتيته الى قطع صغيرة او يتم سحبه كقطعة واحدة . يتم بعدها زرع عدسة بلاستيكية شفافة تسمى العدسة ضمن العين قد يتم أحيانا استخدام القطب لاغلاق الجرح. يتم التخدير باستخدام عدة أنواع تتضمن التخدير الموضعي ، السطحي أوالتخدير العام.

ماهي أفضل أنواع
العدسات ضمن العين ؟

يوجد أنواع عديدة للعدسات : عديدة البؤر ، وحيدة البؤر ، وحيدة البؤر الاسطوانية ، اسطوانية ، عديدة البؤر اسطوانية ، والتطابقية . كلها مصنوعة من مواد بلاستيكية مختلفة. ان اختيار العدسة هو قرار دقيق لكل مريض تبعاً لعمر المريض واحتياجاته ونمط حياته. باستخدام العدسة التقليدية سيكون المريض بحاجة لا ستخدام نظارة للقرب أو البعد أو كليهما لأن هذه العدسة غير قادرة على التكيف للمسافات. يتوافر لمرضى المركز الفنلندي العدسة عديدة البؤر التي توفر للمريض امكانية الرؤية للقرب والبعد دون إستخدام النظارة أو تقليل الاعتماد عليها بسبب تصميم العدسة ذو المناطق المتعددة . العدسات الاسطوانية تستخدم للمرضى الذين لديهم انحراف في عيونهم. العدسة عديدة البؤر الاسطوانية تستخدم للمرضى الذين لديهم بعض الانحراف في عيونهم والذين يرغبون برؤية جيدة للقرب والبعد بعد العملية.أما أحدث الاضافات فهي العدسة داخل العين التطابقية والتي تماثل القدرة الطبيعية للعين على المطابقة.

مشاركة رؤيتنا

ماذا يحدث
بعد جراحة النزول الأبيض؟

بعد الانتهاء من الجراحة يتم وضع ضماد للعين تتم ازالته أثناء المتابعة في اليوم التالي للعملية يجب على المريض استخدام القطرات العينية حسب التعليمات وتكون عادة عبارة عن مضاد حيوي وستروئيدات لمدة شهر . يحتاج المريض لأسبوع واحد على الأقل كاستراحة مرضية أو أكثر اذا دعت الحاجة.
بعد ذلك يمكن للمريض العودة الى العمل ويعتمد ذلك على طبيعة هذا العمل ( المرضى أصحاب الأعمال الغير مكتبية أو البيئة المغبرة أو التي تتطلب جهد يدوي زائد ينصحون باستراحات لمدة أطول ) .
يمكن للمريض الاستحمام بعد مرور اسبوعين على العملية أما الصلاة فيجب أن تتم بوضعية الجلوس لمدة أسبوع ويجب تنظيف العين خلال هذه الفترة بعناية باستخدام فوطه نظيفة أو باستخدام القطن. تمنع السباحة وحمامات البخار والساونا لمدة شهر أما قيادة السيارة فتسمح بعد استشارة الطبيب وموافقته.
يعطى المريض ورقة ارشادات لكامل التعليمات بعد العملية بخصوص استخدام القطرات والمتابعات والنصائح العملية .

ماهي مخاطر العملية
وتأثيراتها الجانبية ؟

كما في كل العمليات الجراحية تتضمن عملية النزول الأبيض بعض الأخطار والتأثيرات الجانبية ، تدل الدراسات أن أقل من 2% من المرضى يحدث لديهم اختلاطات تتطلب اجراء جراحة اضافية.

كل المرضى تقريبا سيشعرون بوجود جسم غريب في العين اضافةً لاحمرار العين ( يكون الاحمرار بدرجات متفاوته وغالباً مايكون مخيفاً بالنسبة للمريض أو عائلته انما هو غير خطير في الواقع ) وذلك خلال الأيام أو الأسابيع الأولى . اعتمادا على نوع العدسة المستخدمة قد يحتاج المريض لاستخدام النظارة أو قد يحتاج لاحقاً لاجراء بسيط باستخدام الليزر . أيضاً من الممكن أن يلاحظ المريض بعض السطوع او الهالات أو التشويش البسيط. في حال بقاء قطع من النزول الأبيض خلال العملية قد يحتاج المريض لجراحة اضافية خلال اسبوع . في الحالات النادرة لالتهاب باطن العين قد يحتاج المريض لقبول ضمن المركز أو المراجعة اليومية للعيادة من أجل العلاج ان المصدر الأساسي للانتان هي الأجفان أو الأهداب غير النظيفة.

في حالات الساد مفرط النضج وبسبب الحاجة الى كمية مناورات أكبر خلال العملية فإن ذلك سيؤدي الى ازدياد فترة العمل الجراحي اضافة أن القرنية قد تنكسر معاوضتها وقد تحتاج فيما بعد لزراعة قرنية أو استبدال البطانة الداخلية في حال لم تحصل استفادة على المعالجة الدوائية . حوالي 30% من المرضى وعلى الر غم من ازالة النزول الأبيض سيحصل لديهم تكثف في المحفظة ( التي تمت ازالة النزول الأبيض منها وزرع العدسة داخلها ) خلال 5 سنوات من العملية . في مثل هذه الحالات يتم العلاج باستخدام الياغ ليزر خلال شهور بعد العملية . يمكن للمريض بعدها أن يعود لنشاطاته اليومية خلال ساعة واحدة علما أنه قد يبقى بعض التشويش بسبب القطرات العينية المستخدمة.

في بعض الحالات عند المرضى الذين لديهم حالات عينية أخرى ( كالنزول الأسود – تكثف القرنية – مشاكل الشبكية – العين الكسولة ..... ) يشرح للمريض سلفا عن النتائج غير المشجعة لجراحة النزول الأبيض ونحن نحاول جهدنا لشرح هذه النقاط للمريض قبل العملية من المحتمل تشخيص بعض الحالات الأخرى بعد اجراء عملية النزول الأبيض حيث يكون من الصعب تشخيصها قبل ازالة النزول ( خصوصاً اذا كان النزول من النوع المتقدم أو الكثيف ) أيضاً يمكن أن تحدث وذمة اللطخة الصفراء الكيسية بعد العملية ولكنها عادة تزول خلال 6 شهور بشكل عفوي.



على اعتبار أننا جميعا سنعاني من النزول الأبيض عاجلاً أم أجلا يجب التنويه أن اجراء العملية في بدايته سيكون مترافقاً بنسبة أقل من الأخطار والتأثيرات الجانبية وكلما انتظر المريض لفترة أطول كلما ازدادت صعوبة العملية وازدادت نسبة حدوث الاختلاطات الجراحية والحاجة لجراحات واجراءات اضافية.

ملاحظة : عملية النزول الأبيض تتضمن عدة مراحل بدءاً من الفحص ماقبل العملية مروراً بالتخدير ، جراحة النزول والمتابعة مابعد العملية جميع هذه المراحل تتطلب اهتماماً وتعاوناً من كل الأشخاص المعنيين. وعلى اعتبار أن كل الجهود تبذل من أجل تحقيق جراحة ناجحة فمن المهم اتخاذ القرار المناسب من قبل المريض قبل أن يوقع على استمارة القبول.

What is cataract ?

What is
Cataract ?

Cataract refers to the clouding of the normally clear lens of the eye. It is not always a disease as such, but rather an aging process of the lens. Cataract can also be congenital, traumatic or secondary due to for example steroids or diabetes. Cataract surgery is the most common eye surgery since practically every person will at some stage develop a cataract.

When should a
cataract be operated?

Cataract can be operated at any time after diagnosis, whether it already impairs vision or not. Ideally, a cataract should be operated sooner than later, making the procedure safer for the patient. Highly mature cataracts not only impair vision but can lead to an increased surgical risk and complication rate and may even leave other conditions undiagnosed (especially retinal conditions).
In certain cases, such as high eye pressure (glaucoma), over-mature cataract or congenital cataract, prompt surgical intervention is necessary.

How is the surgery done?

Cataract surgery is a routinely performed eye surgery around the world and also at Finland Eye Center. Different techniques can be used for cataract surgery, depending on the patient’s needs and surgeon’s decision. At FEC, the most common method is “phacoemulsification”, which involves a small incision through which the surgeon accesses the cataract. Alternatively, a larger “ECCE” incision can be made (sometimes for very mature cataracts). The cataract/lens is then removed by breaking it down into smaller pieces or extracted as one piece. A clear, plastic lens called an intraocular lens, or IOL, is then inserted. Sutures may be used to close the incision. Different types of anaesthesia are available, including topical, local and general.

Which type of
intraocular lens (IOL) is best?

There are several types IOL’s available; monofocal, multifocal, monofocal toric, multifocal toric, and accommodating. The IOL of choice is a carefully considered decision to be made for each patient depending on the patient’s age, lifestyle, needs etc. With a regular IOL, you will need to wear glasses for either near or distance vision, or both, because the plastic lens will not be able to adapt or focus. Patients at FEC are introduced to multifocal IOL’s, with which patients can become glass independent to see near and far after the surgery due to the IOL’s built-in alternating zones. Toric IOL’s are used for patients with astigmatism. Multifocal toric IOL’s will be recommended for patients wishing to see near and far, who previously had a certain degree of astigmatism. The latest addition is the accommodating IOL, which mimics the natural lens’ ability to focus.

Sharing Our Vision

What happens
after cataract surgery?

At the end of the operation, a protective eye shield will be placed, which will be removed at your next day follow-up. You will need to use eye drops as advised, usually antibiotic and steroid drops for 1 month. You will need at least a week of sick leave, possibly more if necessary. After that you should be able to return to work, depending on the nature of your work (e.g. patients with outdoor work, dusty environments, heavy manual labour etc. are advised for longer sick leave). Showering is fine after the 2nd post-operative day but praying must be done sitting for one week and the eyes/eye area should only be cleaned gently with a clean cloth or cotton wool for the first week. No swimming/sauna/steam room for 1 month. Driving permission will be given by your doctor when appropriate.
You will be given a detailed post-operative advice sheet with all the information you need regarding drops, follow-ups and practical advice!

What are the
risks and side-effects?

As with any surgery, also cataract surgery carries risks and side-effects. Studies suggest less than 2% of patients experience complications that require further surgical procedures.

Nearly everyone will have mild foreign body sensation and redness (redness can vary and often looks alarming to the patient/relatives but is actually harmless) for the first few days or weeks. Depending on the type of IOL used, the patient may need to continue using glasses or a laser “touch-up” treatment may be recommended. Post-operative glare, haloes or glistening is also possible.

During operation, in case of residual cataract fragment(s), a second surgical session might be required usually within a week (arranged by FEC). In the unlikely event of endophthalmitis (intraocular infection), admission may be required or daily visits to the clinic for treatment. The usual sources for infections are dirty eyelids/lashes. With very mature cataracts, due to the required large amount of energy and manipulation leading to a long operation time, the cornea may become decompensated and a corneal graft may be needed later if prolonged topical treatment does not help. Around 30% of patients, despite removing the cataract, experience clouding of the capsule (from which the cataract was extracted and the artificial lens inserted) within 5 years of surgery. In such cases, a quick out-patient laser procedure, called YAG-capsulotomy, can be done at FEC few months after surgery if needed. You can resume with your daily activities usually within an hour, although some blurriness may remain due to eye drops and dilated pupils.

In some cases, patients with other conditions (such as glaucoma, corneal scarring/haze, retinal problems, lazy eye etc.) may be disappointed with the results of a cataract surgery. We try our best to explain this to those patients before the surgery. It is also possible that secondary conditions may be revealed during or after the cataract surgery that could not be detected before removing the cataract (especially if the cataract was very dense/advanced). Cystoid macular oedema can appear post-operatively but it usually resolves within 6 months by itself.

Since all of us will develop a cataract sooner or later, it should be noted that the sooner it is operated, the lower the risks and side-effects are. The longer you wait, the more difficult the surgery becomes and the higher the risk of complications and additional/secondary issues.

Note:Cataract surgery involves many steps from pre-operative examination to anaesthesia, and cataract surgery itself to post-operative care and follow-up. Each of these steps requires care and co-operation from all involved. While all effort is made to ensure successful surgery, it is important to make an informed decision, before signing the consent form.